Welcome to Okeechobee






FBI Wanted List



Department of Corrections

U.S. Marshal

DEA Fugitives


Click picture below to obtain

a copy of a crash report




"Under Florida law, e-mail

 addresses are public records.

If you do not want your e-mail

address released in response to

a public-records request, do not

send electronic mail to this

 entity. Instead, contact this

office by phone or in writing."



Police Department 


The City of Okeechobee Police Department is a professional and a progressive law enforcement agency that provides law enforcement and related services to the City of Okeechobee.

The current organizational structure of the police department includes one police chief, one major, one uniformed road patrol lieutenant, four uniformed road patrol sergeants, eight road patrol officers, two part time road patrol officers, one detective sergeant, three detectives, one narcotics investigator who is currently assigned to the county task force, one school crossing guard,  one police services coordinator, five dispatchers, one part-time dispatcher, one records clerk and ten certified auxiliary police officers.



Robert Peterson is the current Chief of Police.

Major Donald Hagan is second in command and is responsible for the oversight of the day-to-day operations of the City Police Department.

The uniformed road patrol section serves as the most visible part of the police department by maintaining a constant police presence in the community, and by performing those vital police patrol functions that help make the city a safer place for everyone.


The uniformed road patrol is supervised by a road patrol lieutenant and is divided into four separate squads, with each having a road patrol sergeant and two uniformed patrol officers assigned. There is also an extra road patrol officer that works primarily in the evening and at other times when there are a high level of police service calls in the community.

The uniformed road patrol lieutenant is in charge of this section.   The four sergeants assigned to this section are Sgt. Aurelio Almazan, Sgt. Dawn Wendt, Sgt. Belen Reyna and Sgt. Skip Eddings. The officers include J. P. Zeigler, Kelly Margerum, Ryan Holroyd, Michael Jordan, Raul Marrero, Brandon Griesemer and Luis Rojas along with officer Todd Burk and Jeremy LaRue who work on a part-time basis.

Also assigned to the uniformed road patrol on a part-time basis is a school crossing guard. They are responsible for the safety of our school aged children at Central Elementary School during the academic year.

The Criminal Investigations Section is responsible for conducting in-depth investigations into matters involving crime against persons and property, internal affairs and other areas of concern. This division is supervised by Detective Sergeant Bettye Taylor. Detectives assigned to this section are Detective William Saum, Detective James Pickering and Detective Jack Boon. The administrative staff and support personnel at the police department include police services coordinator Terisa Garcia, records clerk Jeanna Kovac, police dispatchers  Pam Wilkerson, Tiffany Noel, Adela Nunez, Mary Boeckler and Erica Smith along with dispatcher Savannah Smith who work on a part-time basis. Auxiliary Officer Sandra Bostwick is the school crossing guard.

The Okeechobee City Police actively work with community leaders and members through various collaborative efforts that involve implementation of problem solving strategies, promoting crime prevention activities and fostering safety education and awareness programs that help to better inform the citizens in our community on matters of public concern.

The Okeechobee City Police Department is located at 50 SE 2nd Avenue. You can contact them at 863-763-5521 or fax them at 863-763-7804.