Welcome to Okeechobee




"Under Florida law, e-mail addresses

 are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in

response to a public-records request,

do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by

phone or in writing."



Okeechobee City Council

City Council Members:

Mayor Watford, Noel Chandler, Mike O'Connor ,

Gary Ritter and Monica Clark

The City of Okeechobee's City Council is made up of five representatives who reside within the city limits. They are elected at large, (not by districts), to four year terms. Each even numbered year on General Election Day in November, the city's registered voters may elect or re-elect two or three City Council members to  represent them in their city government.

The City Council is basically a policy-making board. Their main functions are to provide for the safety and welfare of the citizens in their care and to establish policies by adopting ordinances and resolutions, agreements, easements and annual budgets and approving contracts.

The City Council is governed by the City Code of Ordinances, Florida Statutes and the Florida Government in the Sunshine Law. Their authority is conveyed through twice monthly legally convened city council meeting action to their citizens.

Mayor Watford presides over council meetings and workshops of the City Council. The Mayor represents the City at official functions and is signatory to city documents.


The City Council meets on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. in their chambers, located on the second floor of City Hall.


If you would like to have an item on a City Council Agenda please click on the link below.

 Agenda Item Request Form

Contact City Council:

Mayor Dowling Watford

     Council Member Noel Chandler

     Council Member Mike O'Connor

 Council Member Gary Ritter

Council Member Monica Clark


  The City of Okeechobee has memberships & relationships

with several organizations to assist in lobbying efforts for it's citizens.


                        CAS Governmental Services LLC 

                        Treasure Coast Regional League of Cities

                        Florida League of Cities

                        Treasure Coast Council of Local Government